First try @ pork in Belgium

Yes…it took me 8+ months to brave buying pork (Flemish – varkensvlees) at the grocery store (yes, I know it’s ridiculous).  With things like horse (Flemish – paard) and pigeon (Flemish – duif), I had to be careful!!!

I used a recipe from Giada De Laurenttis (see the recipe here).  The only thing I changed was not using parmesan cheese (didn’t have any).  I also tried out a roasted broccoli recipe from my ‘Real Simple’ magazine (still from our trip home)!

Roasted Broccoli and Feta: (from Real Simple)

  • Broccoli florets, cut
  • Olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
Preheat the oven to 450F (230C).  Line a baking sheet with tin foil (easy clean-up).  Toss the broccoli with a little bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Place the broccoli on the baking sheet and roast for about 15 minutes (stir occasionaly – 1 to 2 times).  When they are complete, toss with the feta cheese.  Done – so simps.

Preppin'

Finished...delish!

Joe used the words amazing and awesome…so, I think its safe to assume we can eat pork here.  🙂

*As I mentioned previously, I really wanted some Holiday decor.  So, today I went to IKEA today with my friend Sarah and picked up some GREAT Holiday decor.  Can’t wait to put it up…when is too early?!

**I may or may not be listening to Christmas music right now.  Yes, Michael Buble, you are amazing.  Oh, yea, and Justin Biebs too…seriously, I bought one song…

One response

  1. You should try the iberico porc that is available in most delhaize stores these days . it’s usually sold in black packets with “inspirations” labeled on top.
    http://www.delhaizedirect.be/nl/F-29558-vers-vlees-in-bulk/P-32392-varkensmedaillon-iberico
    http://www.delhaizedirect.be/nl/F-29558-vers-vlees-in-bulk/P-58198-varkensmignonnette-iberico
    http://www.delhaizedirect.be/nl/F-29558-vers-vlees-in-bulk/P-58189-varkenskroon-iberico

    Not the cheapest piece of porc you’ll ever have bought but absolutely worth it.

Leave a Reply

