Choco Chip and Oatmeal Bars!

I got up early this morning to do a quick workout (Hello, Jillian!) and some baking before I headed off to my friend’s house for the day!

I still had this leftover from my trip to the USA!

How I miss Betty Crock!

I really want to make the cookie’s, but realized that my cookie sheet I bought (for our old apartment) does not fit into my teeny, tiny combo oven.  Sigh.  So, I made bars instead…and honestly, am I glad I did!  I LOVE the thickness and the gooey consistency! 🙂  I think Joe did too…I heard a “mmmhhh, wow, amazing” coming from the kitchen once he got home!

Yea - these won't (ahem, didn't) last long!

Like I said, I headed over to my friend’s house for the day!  As I was walking there, I had to stop for some pictures since it was just such a beautiful (albeit, chilly) fall morning.  The weather site said 4 degrees celsius to which my jaw dropped.  I immediately had to look up what that was in fahrenheit (about 40 degrees).  I’m sticking with fahrenheit – 4 degrees is just psychologically so much worse!

LOVE the "row-like" houses here along the river!

Leaves are starting to change!

We had a LOT of catching up to do!  We both had trips to the US to talk about as well as new food recipes, shopping, etc.  PLUS, she is going to teach me how to sew a skirt and a jacket so we had to discuss the styling and fabric.  I’m a bit skeptical at my “skills” in this area, but she ensures me it will be easy!  Next week we will begin the sewing…yay!  My goal is to impress my fam with a cute skirt over the holidays…ha!

She made a DELICIOUS lunch for us!  Home-made pumpkin soup!  The pumpkin was from her OWN garden (very organic)! 🙂  I will definitely attempt to make this myself – roasted pumpkin + garlic + a little olive oil + pepper + stock!  Simply delicious (as you know pumpkin is one of my fave flavors)!

Cute table setting!

Loved the freshly ground pepper!

And of course, our lunch was not complete without a little dessert.  I brought along the oatmeal/choco chip bars and she had made cupcakes with a delicious buttercream frosting.

Helped myself to a little bit of both!

A great day!!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

