I love…Friday’s

Another Friday…I used to love Friday’s because it meant I had the weekend off of work.  Of course I technically have all days “off” so…now I love it because Joe has the weekend off from work.

And because of this…

Friday Appy's!

I decided to try a new recipe tonight.  I’ve found that I’ve not been cooking as much since school started (school provides my meal on Monday and Tuesday nights).  Anyway, today grabbed this recipe from my daily “Allrecipes” email that I get…

Baked Chicken and Zucchini: (Allrecipes – I modified it for 2 people)

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 large zucchini, sliced
  • 2 tomatoes, sliced
  • shredded mozzarella
  • basil (fresh if you got it, I didn’t…so, hello spice cabinet)
Preheat your oven to 400F or 200C (in my case, I pre-heated my combo micro, oven, grill…seriously still in awe of this machine)!
In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, water, 1/2 tsp salt and the pepper.  Then, dip the chicken in the mixture and place in a re-sealable bag (Ziploc brand prefered of course…ah, the SCJ days)!  Add the bread crumbs (reserving 1 tbsp) and shake it up!
Spray your skillet with PAM and cook the chicken over medium high heat for about 2-3 minutes per side.  Set aside.  Toss in the sliced zucchini and cook for about 1-2 minutes.  Next, add the zucchini slices to the bottom of a greased (PAM) 9×13 baking dish.  Sprinkle the reserved 1bsp bread crumbs over the zucchini and top with the tomato slices.  Sprinkle the shredded mozzarella over the veggies (I didn’t measure this but can tell you that I was VERY generous with the cheese)!  Lastly, add the chicken on top and cover with foil.  Cook in the oven for 25 minutes.  Remove cover and sprinkle MORE cheese on top and cook for an additional 10 minutes.  DING…it’s done!

Mmm, cheese.

SO GOOD! 🙂  After dinner, we decided to go check out a new bar that Joe’s boss recommended.  We were really skeptical because it is a movie theater…but he did NOT lead us astray.  AWESOME, definitely a new fave!  We can’t wait to show our friends:  Studio Skoop  Check out the link!  The decor is great.  If you can see in the pic, the chairs against the wall are old movie theater seats.  Plus, the menu has movie trivia!  Score!

Check the chairs!

Obvii...trivia was in English.

 

One response

Leave a Reply

