Another successful book club!

Well, I’ll admit today was a pretty low-key day (laundry, work-out, and that’s about it).  At times I was REALLY bored…until I discovered…FREE Dawson’s Creek episodes online (yes, thats right).  And no, it didn’t just pop up, I was ACTIVELY searching for these.  Anyone else concerned that I might need a job?

Anyway, this was MY FAVE show in high school and into college.  Who hasn’t dreamt of Pacey Witter, seriously?!

So yea, I watched quite a few episodes today.  And no, I will not tell you how many.  It was really great (no sarcasm, seriously).

Ok, enough about that, I should talk about more socially acceptable things.  Tonight was the 2nd meeting of my new book club.  The September book we read was “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.  I LOVED this book.  Honestly, one of the best I’ve read in quite some time.  I’ll admit that it took me a couple chapters to get into it (the dialect threw me off a little), but once I was about 75 pages in, I could NOT put it down.  I think I was up ’til 3am one night reading.  If you haven’t heard of it, it is about African American maids in the South (specifically Mississippi) during the 1960’s.  It tells their story on working for white families and raising their children.  From what I hear, it’s become quite the popular movie in the USA (no sign of entering Belgium anytime soon…ugh).

Tonight we all met at Vooruit to discuss (side note – great bar with food and free wi-fi)!  The consensus = unanimous winner!  It’s very interesting being the only American in the group because I had no idea how African Americans were treated in Europe during the ’60’s.  (FYI – it was VERY different than the South of the USA).  I’ve really enjoyed hearing about the history of different countries/cultures…something I’ve really never even thought about before I moved.  Anyway, we had a great time discussing the book and even more fun catching up/chit-chatting as women do.  (Let’s be honest, about 20 minutes is on the book and the other 1.5 hours is just chatting).  🙂

Up next month…“Water for Elephants” by Sara Gruen.

4 responses

  1. So happy for you that you found some FREE DC! Did you know that Friends is now on Nick at Nite? Something to look forward to! 🙂 And yes, “The Help” is a pretty big deal around here. My mom has already seen it twice.

Leave a Reply

