A taste of FALL!

We decided to make a nice hearty breakfast this morning.  It may not technically be Fall yet, but its felt like Fall for about 2 months in Belgium…so, I figure I’ve waited long enough!  One of my favorite Fall things is pumpkin (pumpkin picking, carving, gourds, pumpkin bread, pumpkin choco chip muffins, etc).  So, when I saw a post on one of my favorite blogs for “Pumpkin Banana Oatmeal,”  I HAD to try it!

(If you recall, I picked up some Libby’s 100% Pumpkin at the American grocery store last week)!

Here is the recipe from her Blog (check it out…it’s great)!

Pumpkin Banana Oatmeal:

  • 1 cup oats (we used Quaker Oats – quick cooking since that’s all I can find here)
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar (from the American Grocery store)
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin (from the American Grocery store)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (from the American Grocery store)
  • Nutmeg (sprinkled on top) (from the American Grocery store)
Bring the water to a boil on the stovetop.  Add the oats and cook for about a minute (again, this is a shorter time period since I used quick-oats).  Once cooked, stir in 1/2 banana, brown sugar, pumpkin, and cinnamon.  Cook for another minute or so to let the ingredients warm and combine.  Transfer to bowls (this was a big serving for both Maggie and I) and top with remaining banana and sprinkle on nutmeg, if desired.
Some notes:
  • Maggie said the American Heart Association classifies 1/2 cup oats as a serving size.  Thanks for the tip! 🙂
  • I classified what ingredients I got from the American Grocery store to make a point (yet again) how hard it is to find “common” ingredients here!  Are you feeling my pain yet?!
  • I would DEFINITELY add a little more pumpkin.  I like the pumpkin taste to be extremely prevalent.  I think that the cinnamon (which I love) over took the bowl a little.  Personal preference…but just a tip if you LOVE pumpkin!

YUM - see the nutmeg sprinkles?!

This oatmeal has got me thinking a lot about Fall and I just have to comment on some of my favorite fall things…(even if they are gaggish)!
  • The smell of Fall – the leaves, cool air, etc.
  • How the cottage and lake looks up north + Shack in Sterling
  • Sweatshirts
  • Back to School fashion (um, hello boots and scarves)
  • Pumpkin (obvii)
  • Chili (I feel like chili is a colder weather meal) + Oyster crackers (OMG, I miss those)
  • Decor – at our condo we have a HUGE box of “fall-like” decor (candles, table runner, fake leaves, halloween garland)!  Sad that we cannot use it this year!
  • Last but not least…the anticipation of returning to the USA VERY soon!  Ahhhh
Ok, moving on, Maggie and I decided that we indulged quite a bit the last couple days (with our meals, drinks, and of course, Julie’s House yesterday), so we wanted to do a little exercise.  Out came the Jillian DVD!  We opted for Level 3 of “Ripped in 30.”  And yes, side by side we finished it (both sweating like crazy) and both cursing Jillian during the infamous “duck walk.”  *I really hope the person living below us was not home…I can’t imagine what they thought we were doing!
Finally (this post is getting rather long), I will conclude with what we did this afternoon.  After our strenuous work-out, we rewarded ourselves by sitting outside St. Bavo’s Cathedral listening to a street musician and…indulging in…a Belgian wafel!  And, here it is…

A lil mid-day snack!

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Choco Chip and Oatmeal Bars! | Expats In Ghent

  2. Pingback: OM all day… | Expats In Ghent

Leave a Reply

