Marinated Shrimp Skewers + Marinated Veggie Skewers

I gave you a little teaser yesterday about my means night out!” href=”https://expatsinghent.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/last-friday-of-freedom-means-night-out/” target=”_blank”>Friday night dinner…

And, here it is!  I am proud to announce that this is my favorite and perhaps most delicious meal I’ve made to date.  Honestly, I think it has a lot to do with how much time it took…when you spend a lot of time preparing, the reward is greater.  Joe came home after  a long month-end close to this delicious meal (he LOVED it)!

Side note – I really wanted to try the “grill” feature on our combo microwave/grill/oven heating unit (not sure what to call it really).  I was skeptical if all these settings were legit.  Yes, yes they are.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp Skewers:

I followed the Allrecipes.com site to a T (substituted a little dried basil for the fresh since I didn’t have any).  I marinated the shrimp for about 1.5 hours in the fridge.

Have any of you ever bought shrimp that hasn’t been de-veined or peeled?  Well, I haven’t until today and all I can say is OMG…I never want to do it again.  First, it takes FOREVER (like took me 45 minutes…went a little bit faster after I got fed up and googled a youtube video on how to do it).  Second, it’s disgusting, I’m pretty sure one of the veins is like the shrimp’s waste tube…it was brown.  Ugh.  Next time…I will GLADLY spend the extra $$$ for the good-to-go shrimp.

Anyway, here are some of the prep pics…and yes, it was worth it!

Marinated Veggie Skewers:

I followed another Allrecipes.com recipe for the veggie marinade, but opted to use our favorite veggies for the skewers (various-colored bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, zucchini, and mushrooms)!

*We really liked the lemon-zesty taste this marinade had in combo with the herbs.  SO good.

Here is what my plate looked like to start (of course, we ended up eating 2 veggie skewers a piece + 1.5 shrimp skewers)…everything was GONE!  HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: I love…Friday’s | Expats In Ghent

  2. Pingback: Choco Chip and Oatmeal Bars! | Expats In Ghent

  3. Pingback: Armistice Day ~ Holiday in Belgie | Expats In Ghent

Leave a Reply

