Le Pain Quotidien bread + Bacon-wrapped cod

Took the day off from working out today and instead walked around the city to the various grocery stores to pick up dinner.  I decided to stop at one of my favorite restaurants in Gent for bread (Belgium has the BEST bread) and I love this organic restaurant/bakery.

Grocery stops

  • Whole Grain Baguette – ‘Le Pain Quotidien’ (http://www.lepainquotidien.be/) *1 large baguette so Joe and I could share (next time I’m getting 2 as I caught him sneaking bites of my 1/2)
  • Cod – ‘De Vis’ fist market (http://www.devis.be/)
  • Vegetable Market for salad

I spoke in Dutch all day today and was pret-ty proud of myself.  I only stumbled once when the fish market lady said something as I was leaving.  I think she said have a nice day.  I panicked and just mumbled incoherently in English as I walked out.

Bacon-wrapped Cod:

  • Cod for 2 people (halibut/trout is good too)
  • 5-6 slices of bacon (could use turkey bacon – Joe’s not a fan)
  • salt and pepper to taste
Coat a skillet with cooking spray.  Salt and pepper the fish. Wrap 2-3 slices of bacon around the fish.  Cook on medium-high until bacon and fish are preferred done-ness (yes, it’s a word).
Ours took approx 8-10 minutes – I would have argued to keep them on a little longer, but we’ve been down that road (about every other night) and it always ends at “I’m too picky.”  Fine, if I eat raw meat and get sick…you know who to talk to. 🙂
Enjoy!
One response

  1. Pingback: A happy Friday of Fitness and Food! | Expats In Ghent

Leave a Reply

