Baked Chicken with Chickpea Salad

Growing up, Sunday night dinner was the BEST.  My mom and dad would always make a nice dinner for the family.  I’m not sure if it was because they did not have to work that day or what, but the meal always seemed more in-depth than the week night foods (more ingredients, longer cooking times, etc).  The 5 of us (I have 2 little sisters) would sit down and talk about what was going on during the upcoming week.  As I moved out and got married, Joe and I were invited over for Sunday dinners very often – awesome.

Now that we are living in Belgium, getting to Sunday night dinners in Milwaukee has posed a little problem.  SO, Joe and I have taken it upon ourselves to sit down and eat a nice home-cooked meal every Sunday evening.  We also talk about what our plans are for the week…of course, the conversation for Joe is typically about his work schedule.  My plans are more, hm…undefined (who am I lunching with this week, what happy hours, etc).  BUT, that will change as I start my MBA 2 weeks from today!

Anyway, here is what we had this Sunday.

Baked Chicken with Chickpea Salad:

For the chicken:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • cayenne pepper
  • garlic powder
  • salt/pepper
Preheat oven to 350F (276C).  Place the chicken in an oiled baking dish.  Sprinkle with herbs/spices.  Honestly, this is essentially chicken with whatever spices you want.  I do not measure them out…Joe and I like spicey, so I tend to go heavy on the cayenne.  Depending on the size of your chickens, cook time is approx 30 minutes.
For the Chickpea Salad:
  • 1 15oz can of chickpeas/garbonzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 cucumber, quartered
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/4 c balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 c red wine vinegar
Just mix!  I usually make ahead of time (like that afternoon) and put in the fridge to let the juices combine.  SUPER easy.
For Dessert (sorry no pics…ate too fast) we tried out the ‘Damass Bvba’ ice cream parlor in the Korenmarkt.  Flavors tried:
  • Vanilla yogurt
  • Strawberry sorbet
  • Stracciatella (vanilla with choco shavings)
  • Gingerbread (had actual chunks – YUM)
  • Speculoos (Belgian favorite – think spiced cookie)
One response

  1. Sunday dinners were one of my favortie meals with you girls growing up. I’m glad the tradition carries on. Plus that meal looks delicious. OF course, it’s chicken so how could it not. I like reading your blog Sarah. It’s cute!! and very informative.

Leave a Reply

