OMG…Funfetti!!!!!

About 2 weeks ago, Joe and I discovered that there is an “American” grocery store about 40 minutes away from Gent (Grare in Antwerp).  In my 10+ years of grocery shopping, it was BY FAR, the most exciting trip.  A LOT of $$$ later, here are a few things we picked up that made our day:

  • Choco chip cookie mix
  • Goldfish Crackers (one bag gone by the time we arrived home…)
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Life Cereal
  • Lucky Charms Cereal
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Granola Bars
  • Hot Sauce
Saving the best for last…FUNFETTI CAKE MIX and FUNFETTI FROSTING!  Are you kidding me?!?!  This is the ONLY cake I request on my birthday and I was sad to see May 3rd come and go without it…but, here it was!  I don’t care if I spent $15 on the ingredients.
Soo, here I am, 2 weeks later, making the cupcakes for a dinner with American friends tonight (had to wait until others would be joining us to eat the cupcakes for fear I would eat them all).  It just so happens to be my BFF’s birthday too…so, a little celebration in her honor.
Mmmm, don’t they look amazing?  I already licked the bowl…and I’m patiently waiting to eat one after dinner tonight.  By the way, the ONLY acceptable way to frost funfetti cupcakes (in my opinion) is by MIXING the sprinkles into the frosting.
2 responses

  1. LOVE it!! I remember the “American” grocery store in Spain. It was super expensive but sooo worth it. I remember it was around Halloween and I bought candy corn for like, 8 euros. Small price to pay for a taste of home. 🙂

    PS thanks for the bday shout out! Funfetti cupcakes are the best.

  2. Pingback: The American Grocery Store!!! | Expats In Ghent

Leave a Reply

