Stuffed Green Peppers!!

And, now for one of my all time favorite recipes…I would have posted sooner, but was not “allowed” to make this meal for awhile.  I had been making it a LOT and Joe finally asked if we could “vary” our meals (probably because it’s meatless)…

Interestingly, Joe WAS super eager to eat this meal.  You’ll note his hands folded in his lap in the picture.  He was less than pleased that I made him wait to eat while I took pictures…

Stuffed Green Peppers (modified from martha stewart):

  • 4 green bell peppers
  • Brown rice (1 cup)  – I use 2 mini-bags (62,5 g)
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 roma tomatoes, diced
  • Tomato sauce (enough to coat the bottom of a baking dish)
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • Mozzarella cheese, shredded
Preheat the oven to 400F (204C).  In a small saucepan, boil salted water and cook rice (approx 20-25 minutes for the rice we use).  While the rice is cooking, pour the tomato sauce into a baking dish (9×13).  Cut off the tops of the green peppers and remove the seeds.  Stand the green peppers upright in the baking dish.
Spray a skillet with PAM and cook the onions over medium heat for approx 5 minutes.  Add the chopped garlic and cook another 2-3 minutes.
Combine the cooked brown rice, the onions, and the tomatoes.  Spoon the mixture evenly among the green peppers.  Top with mozzarella cheese if you so desire (a MUST for Joe and I).
Cover with foil and bake for 35 minutes!
*Optional to include some sort of meet (ground beef or turkey).  Of course, make sure you cook the meat with the onions.  Again, I do meatless since I’m a little weary of the meat at our grocery store here…what can I say, my mom raised me to be VERY picky about meat!
Leave a Reply

