Pita Pizza’s

I love pizza.  In particular, I love delivery pizza from Loiuse’s in Milwaukee and/or frozen pizza (like CPK or Tombstone).  Of course, being in Belgium, there are some problems with having good pizza in my apartment:

1.  No Loiuse’s

2.  No CPK or Tombstone

3.  Freezer is so small it does not fit 1 frozen pizza, so if I buy one, I literally have to eat it ASAP.

Thus, I’ve looked for DIY pizza recipes.  I’ve steered clear of pre-made pizza dough and/or Boboli’s because, well, I have to…it’s not available.  I’m not about to make dough from scratch as it is too much effort AND I still haven’t figured out all the different kinds of flour here.  SO, here is the next best thing – it’s DELISH and actually probably healthier.

PITA PIZZA’S (adapted from allrecipes):

  • 2-3 pitas (WISH I could find whole wheat, but of course, not here in Belgium)
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 2 balls mozzarella cheese (we like tearing the big mozzarella balls, but shredded cheese is just fine)
  • fresh basil
  • Any toppings you want (we like green/red/yellow peppers, mushrooms, and onions)

Preheat the oven to 200C (or 400F).  Place the pita’s on a baking sheet and heat in the oven for 5 minutes.  Meanwhile, heat your veggies on the stove pot in a non-stick pan for about 5 minutes (or until crispy).  Then, take the pita’s out of the oven and top with tomato sauce, cheese, basil, and toppings.  Return the pizzas to the oven to cook for another 8-12 minutes depending on how crispy or doughy you’d like.

Enjoy!


One response

  1. Pingback: In case you are wondering… | Expats In Ghent

Leave a Reply

