Pico de Gallo

One of our favorite (and easy) go to recipes is tacos (fish or chicken – we don’t trust the beef here and there is no ground turkey).  Instead of using pre-made salsa, I’ve started making my own.  I LOVE IT…of course, anyone who knows me knows that any dip with a chip is my best friend.

PICO DE GALLO (adapted from allrecipes):

  • 2 roma tomato’s
  • 1 white onion (red or white doesn’t matter in my opinion)
  • Juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 garlic clove chopped (or more if you like garlic)
  • 1 tbsp chopped cilantro (or as much cilantro as you want)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Feel free to add jalapeno’s (I don’t because I hate cutting them – sensitive hands) 🙂

*Just stir all the ingredients together in a bowl and refrigerate for at least an hour to let it marinate.

We find that the flavor is so good, that we don’t have to add much else to the tacos beside the meat and pico de gallo.  Of course, we always have some shredded cheese on hand.

Delish!

One response

  1. Pingback: The American Grocery Store!!! | Expats In Ghent

Leave a Reply

