Pumpkin, oatmeal, chocolate, and raisins!

This morning I made myself a hearty-portion of oatmeal (plain this time).  I’m rationing my flavored Quaker oatmeal from the US as it’s diminishing quickly!  I added some brown sugar, cinnamon, raisins, and cereal to the mix.

Let's be honest...not as flavorful

So…I had some leftover pumpkin from earlier this week and wanted to make something new.  Enter: Pumpkin, oatmeal, chocolate chip, and raisin cookies!  I found this recipe online and was super pumped about it for a number of reasons.

1.  The missing ingredients that I did not have were “findable” without too much struggle @ the Belgian grocery store (you’ll see below that I’m literally only talking about the flour…yes, pathetic, I know).

2.  It was fat free!  Crazy…I have not told Joe that yet.  I want to see his reaction to the taste first :-)

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies: (adapted from here)

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (American grocery store)
  • 1 cup brown sugar (American grocery store)
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda (American grocery store)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (American grocery store)
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (American grocery store)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips (American grocery store)
  • 1/3 cup raisins

The supplies! Yea, no mixer...my arm seriously hurt.

Preheat the oven to 350F (177C).  Mix the pumpkin and brown sugar together and then whisk in the egg whites.  Next add the flour (I mixed it in 1/2 cup increments) and the spices.  Lastly I added my “mix-ins.”  The recipe called for 3 cups of oats (which I felt was way too much) so I only added in 1 cup and then 1/3 cup raisins.  I also added chocolate chips since I had some leftover and REALLY think pumpkin and chocolate go well together (remember, these?)!  Mix well!

*Note – the choco chips may nix the whole fat free-ness…whatevs still no butter.

Spray a baking sheet with PAM and drop the dough in spoonfuls!  I cooked these suckers for about 13-14 minutes.

So dough-y!

I LOVE the consistency…very chewy! (I only like chewy cookies…shout out to my faves – chewy chips ahoy).  TBD if Joe likes them…

Dessert!

Update:  Success – Joe liked ‘em!

Leave a Reply

